Gratitude Attitude


It’s the middle of October, and Halloween is getting ever closer. While people may be in the festive mood, one should never forget to give thanks for being able to celebrate. While it may not be Thanksgiving, every day there are people, places, and things to be grateful for. As for me, this past week was an especially good chance to give my thanks to the many people who helped me improve myself, including the professionals who participated in my research interview and the professionals and students who I interacted with during lat week’s symposium.

As school was off on Monday, I had a bit more rest than I normally did, but that rest was well needed for my trial on Tuesday. On Tuesday, I had scheduled a research interview – at 6:15 in the morning. Now keep in mind that the place where I was to meet this professional was about a 30-45 minute drive away, and it took about an hour to get everything ready for the day. Coupled with the fact that I had to have some buffer time so that I would not be late to school, I had woken up at about 4:00. However, the interview was done, I realized that life is usually out to absolutely murder you, and the only thing you could do was accept that fact, and take it head on. As for the professional I had to meet with, all I can say was that I was extremely impressed and grateful. After all, I was not the only person who had to wake up early to get to work, furthermore, even with his busy schedule, he had somehow managed it to fit me into it, albeit before it even started.

Due on Thursday were 2 letters, each one addressed to a different professional who had shown up at business symposium. Now while a letter of gratitude may be something that can be written easily and vaguely, I didn’t want to write a half-hearted letter. I had chosen a professional that I had fun talking to during networking and a professional who critiqued my resume and helped me gain insight on what I should do to improve. While I could easily spill my mind onto the letter, formatting was a big thing when creating the letter itself. In the top left the one’s name and address are written. In the center, written in left-aligned text, is the recipient’s name and address. Lastly, a stamp must be placed on the top right of the envelope. While it was tedious, this was probably the most important aspect of the letter because if written wrong, the letter would not even reach the appropriate address. While these letters were for the professionals at symposium, this exact formula was to be used for letters to the professional we met on our research interviews.

Lastly, on Friday, I experienced another kind of trial when going for my fourth research interview. I was 1o minutes early when I arrived at the site of my research interview when five minutes before the meeting he had shown up and told me he had a surgery to attend to. The unexpected surgery was supposed to take around 30-45 minutes; however, it was around an hour after the surgery time when our interview started. I realized that this kind of thing happens; events pop up out of nowhere and take an unexpected amount of time to finish. Despite this, I am grateful that he did indeed give me an interview that day instead of pushing it onto another day. I am grateful that he managed to fit me into his busy, ever-changing schedule.

To all of these professionals and all of the other professionals I met, I only hold extreme gratitude. To all these professionals I want to display my absolute gratitude in the form of a letter. An email is too informal, and a typed letter doesn’t nearly display the extent of my gratitude. To all these professionals, and to all the professionals who I am grateful for, I want to be able to openly display my gratitude in the most suitable form. I’d like to thank anybody who is reading this on this week full of gratitude.

See y’all next week,

Saif Haque

Previous | ToC | Next

Leave a Reply

