A Shift in Mindset

This past week was not as rough as possible, but as many weeks before have done, it tired me out. However, with the advent of the AP tests, many teachers are upping their game to prepare their students. Because of this, my time to work on my final product, visit my mentor, and rest had shortened considerably.  While I could do with less rest, I did not want to sacrifice the time I spent with my mentor as each and every minute had always proven to be interesting.

Besides the normal allowance of tests and quizzes, one big thing I had on my hands was the reading of Mark Twain’s The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn, which was quite unevenly distributed across the next four weeks. For this week, I had to blaze through the first sixteen chapters, yet at the same time, I had to annotate and analyze them as well and fill out a worksheet on those chapters as well. While I may be able to speed read, if I was to read with the intention of annotation, it would take many times longer to get through the quota.

On Friday I was able to meet my mentor for our third proper, official meeting. Like the first meeting, I was able to leave after second period because third period I had ISM and afterward I had early release. This meant I was able to go see my mentor for four straight hours. Again, like the first meeting, I learned quite a bit about the clinical rotations Dr. Polousky performs every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. However, I was not able to make the most of it as I was fatigued from the lower than normal levels of sleep I had been getting. I really wanted to have fun with all of these meetings and didn’t want a lack of sleep to get in the way of my goal. I decided that to make things work next week, I would have to shift how I think to suit myself for next week.

Next week I plan to take less intermittent rests because if I get my homework done faster, I will be able to get more rest in the long run. Furthermore, in order to get my reading done faster, I will speed read my novel, annotate whatever feels important, and then review the chapters to make sure I have properly understood everything occurring thus far in the novel. As for tests and quizzes, I will read the bare minimum to understand the topic at hand go in for tutorials to learn whatever else I need to learn. While these may not be the best methods, at this moment I am faced with many rising obstacles. However, I too can rise above those obstacles by changing my mindset to suit the situation at hand.

See y’all next week,

Saif Haque

Previous | ToC | Next

Leave a Reply

